Facciotti repeats as MX1 Champion – Teddy Maier wraps up MX2 title

 Toyota Yamaha Blackfoot Red Bull Fox Racing’s Colton Facciotti convincingly claimed his second consecutive MX1 Championship title at the final round of the Monster Energy Motocross Nationals in Walton, ON. To put the icing on the cake, the Aldergrove, BC native nailed down the overall on the strength of 2-1 motos. This final annihilation of the competition gave Facciotti six out of nine overalls this season.

In the MX2 title hunt, Monster Energy Leading Edge Kawasaki’s Teddy Maier replaced Royal Distributing KTM’s Eric Nye as the new champion. Nye suffered through a crash-marred day resulting in 12-15 moto results.

Orange Motorsports KTM’s Kerim Fitz-Gerald proved to be the MX2 star of the day, however, winning the overall based on 3-1 moto results. It was the South African’s second consecutive win of the season.

Toyota Yamaha Blackfoot Red Bull Fox Racing’s Dusty Klatt grabbed the first MX1 moto holeshot followed by American guest rider Troy Adams. After a crash, the Team Label It Honda rider eventually finished eighth; he DNF’d moto two and played no role in the top-10 overall.

It didn’t take long for Klatt’s teammate Facciotti, who started in fourth, to work his way into second place. By lap five he was chasing down Klatt, who had hammered down a four-second lead. The rest of the moto Facciotti hounded Klatt without mercy, but despite some near passes never did manage to get by him. As the duo fought tooth-and-nail for first place honours they left behind the chase group which included Monster Energy Cernics Kawasaki’s Bobby Kiniry and Royal Distributing KTM’s Jeff Northrop.

Other than the dance up front between Klatt and Facciotti the rest of the top-five settled into place and pretty well stayed there till the checkered. With a second place finish, Facciotti had enough points secured to claim the championship. Meanwhile, former MX2/MX1 champ Klatt had enough points in the bank to repeat as runner-up. This provided the powerhouse Blackfoot Racing team from Calgary, AB, which has dominated the sport for nearly a decade, with another impressive 1-2 punch in the premier class championship.

New York native Bobby Kiniry’s third place finish in the moro put him within striking distance to displace his teammate Paul Carpenter, who has been missing in action since Round 8 due to a broken wrist, from a season-ending third place ranking. With another third in the second moto, which saw him card third overall on the day, Kiniry cleared the task edging out fellow New Yorker Carpenter by nine points.

The second moto holeshot went to an on fire Facciotti followed by Rockstar Suzuki OTSFF’s Tyler Medaglia, Kiniry, Klatt, and Royal Distributing KTM’s Mason Phillips. While Facciotti put on a clinic worthy of a true champion, a do-or-die battle for second place revolved around Medaglia and Klatt. Behind them the Hungarian Kornel Nemeth displaced Kiniry for third. By lap six Orange Motorsports KTM-mounted Nemeth stuck a pass on a surprised Klatt.

By the halfway mark Nemeth, who finished a tepid 15th in the fist moto, stuck a pass on Medaglia and then set off in pursuit of Facciotti. Shortly after the halfway mark Medaglia, who finished seventh in moto one, stalled his bike handing third place to a grateful Klatt. Although he got underway within a few seconds in fourth, Medaglia soon had to contend with RTM Performance Orange Motorsports KTM’s Liam O’Farrell who showed Medaglia his rear wheel with three laps to go.

Toyota Yamaha Blackfoot Red Bull Fox Racing’s Kyle Beaton ran away with the first MX2 moto holeshot and stayed in the lead to build an eight-second cushion by the halfway mark ahead of champion-in-waiting Teddy Maier who ran in second place all the way to the finish line. Behind them Kerim Fitz-Gerald kept a tight grip on third with Royal Distributing KTM’s Eric Nye in hot pursuit. Defending champ Nye crashed about one-third of the way through the moto and ended up 12th at the checkered. This ensured that his bid to keep the title, meagre as it was, ended right there.

Maier, who enjoyed a 28-point lead over Nye coming into Walton, finished six seconds ahead of Fitz-Gerald. When the checkered flag was waved, the title hunt was over: Iowa’s Teddy Maier put enough points on the board to pin down the 2009 MX2 Championship. Cementing the top-five was Beaton’s teammate Aron Harvey and Leading Edge Kawasaki’s Nick Evennou.

The second moto holeshot was snared by Fitz-Gerald who quickly put a gap between himself and the chase group. Spearheading this group was Clearbrook Yamaha’s Spencer Knowles followed by Evennou, Nye, and Murphy Motorsports FXR Furious Suzuki’s Jeremy Medaglia. Maier, Harvey and Beaton all started outside the top-five.

By the halfway mark the battle behind South Africa’s Fitz-Gerald saw Evennou in second place, Nye in third, Medaglia in fourth and Maier in fifth. While Fitz-Gerald stayed in firm control up front, Nye dogged Evennou till he managed to complete a pass around the halfway point. Medaglia, who was in Nye’s real wheel, also passed Evennou. Within a few laps Medaglia replaced Nye in second while a hapless Evennou, dealing with a leaking front tire, disappeared from the top-20.

Meanwhile, Nye repassed Medaglia again only to go down on the last lap handing a second place finish to Medaglia. Maier, who ran fourth for most of the moto, inherited third place, Harvey fourth and Jarred Allison fifth. A frustrated Nye, meanwhile, finished the race in a distant 15th place while Beaton, who started around 10th, settled for sixth, which was still good enough to card third overall. With 2-3 results, Maier finished the season not only with the championship, but with second overall on the day.

Source: CMRC

Share |

Twitter RSS Feed - Breaking News