On the Radar | Noah Viney | Presented by 100%

By Billy Rainford

Presented by 100%

Name:  Noah Viney

Age: 11

Hometown: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

School and Grade: Grade 6

Number:  43

Bike: 2017 KTM sx 65 and 2017 Kawasaki KX 85

Race Club: AMA

Classes: 65cc (10-11), 65cc (10-11) Limited, 65 (7-11) and 85 (9-11)

Noah Viney

This week, Noah Viney is ‘On the Radar.’ | Photo supplied by Ulf Viney

How did you get started in racing?

My brother, Bjorn, started racing at Sand Del Lee MX 101 Ironman and I wanted to start racing there too. I had my first race there when I was 5 and it was in the mud and I fell every 5 feet. It was horrible but I wanted to win so I kept trying.

What is your favourite track and why? 

It used to be Gatorback in Florida, but I have to say it is Glen Helen in California now. I raced there twice in the last month and I love the downhills there. I always pass people on the big downhill and so it is not just about who has the fastest bike there.

Who is your favourite rider and why?

My favourite rider is Ken Roczen – I was very sad when he got hurt in supercross this year because I really wanted him to win. He is really nice to his fans. I also really like Malcolm Stewart because his Instagram posts are the best.

Noah moved from Ottawa to Northern California with his family a few years ago (shown here with older brother, Bjorn, and father, Ulf). | Bigwave photo

What Canadian Pro do you look up to and why?

Dylan Wright, because he is a savage – he rides with a lot of heart and will give it everything he has to win.

Who is your hero?

Ken Roczen – he moved to the US to try and be the best rider in the world and to win with the best. 

What are your goals for this coming season, and what is it going to take to reach them? 

My goal is to win an AMA title this year – I have won lots of big races and come 2nd many times but I really just want to get an AMA title at a major event. We don’t keep any 2nd place trophies at our house anymore (laughs). I am riding 4-5 times a week and I am always training on track conditions that I usually struggle with so I am ready for the track conditions at a National. Bjorn and I are training at Moto X Compound in Georgia this year in the spring and in the summer so we are ready for the heat and humidity.

What are your biggest accomplishments? 

I won 3 titles at the Vurb Classic West in 2016 at Oatfield MX and I also won the FMF Youth Power Award that weekend. I felt like no one could beat me that weekend. Second biggest accomplishment would be getting the call to join the BTOSports Amateur team for the 2017 season. I am the youngest kid on the team.

Canadian, Brandon Gourlay, is out west spinning the wrenches for the family and spends a lot of time doing impressions of his dad, James Gourlay | Photo supplied by Ulf Viney

What is your favourite part about going to the races?

I love competition – and the feeling of winning, but I also love hanging out and playing with my friends that I get to see at the races. We make tracks for our toy dirt bikes and I like to invite my friends to my RV to play MX Simulator.

What do you like to do when you aren’t racing?

Lots of schoolwork – I am home schooled now, but it is still a lot of work and my mom helps me. 

How do you like living in California?

I love the weather and all the tracks I get to ride. I also have some really good friends in my area that I get to hang out with. California has beaches, mountains, tracks, awesome mountain biking trails. There is so much to do here.

What’s the biggest difference (besides the weather) between Ottawa and California?

Well, we have a lot of Mexican food and I really love Mexican food like tacos. Moto is also very serious here in California, especially for us. We kinda did it for fun in Canada and now we are training all the time and my brother and I both ride for a team. In Canada we did lots of different things like hockey, skating, skiing, soccer and now we pretty much focus 100% on moto.

Noah’s main goal for 2017 is to bring home an AMA Amateur National championship. He was recently picked up by the BTOSports Amateur Team | Photo supplied by Ulf Viney

When do you think we might see you and your brother, Bjorn, racing in Canada again?

I really want to race in Canada again – especially at Sand Del Lee and MMRS Nationals and Walton. Mostly I want to show my competition how I have improved. I have some kids I have raced there that I want to race again. My dad says we might race Walton this year after Loretta’s.

Would you like to do our Pro Series one day?

Both my brother and I want to race the Canadian Nationals one day – maybe be like Jeremy and Tyler Medaglia. My dad has talked about my brother, Bjorn, doing the Canadian Outdoor Nationals when he moves up to big bikes in a few years and then I would be on 85 and Supermini and maybe I could do the amateur races and travel with him across the country. 

Would you like to represent Canada at the MXON some day?

Representing Canada at MXON would be sick. I have been invited to race in Japan and I hope I can do that and represent Canada there. 

Canadian, Brandon Gourlay, is helping you guys out there. What’s something funny you could tell us about him?

I love having Brandon here, he is like having another big brother he sometimes lets me sleep out in the RV with him if I am good. The funniest thing about Brandon is his impressions of his dad James (Big Show). He is always doing impressions of James and they are so funny. He talks about James and his meals and how burgers are like a side dish for a steak dinner (Laughs).

Watch for the #43 to be coming in HOT at an AMA Amateur National in 2017! | Bigwave photo

What’s your favourite place to eat out there?

Super Taqueria 

What kind of music do you listen to?

My dad is always playing country but I like RAP and Hip Hop.

What’s your favourite movie?

I love the show “The 100.”

What’s the biggest difference between North and South California?

It is greener in Northern California because we get more rain and we have less tracks, but our tracks our tighter, slower and more technical. Southern California has a lot of riders and has fast tracks. I love riding Northern California river beds, especially when I get to do some free riding, but I also like the speed and jumps in SoCal.

Who would you like to thank?

I would like to thank my mom and dad for working so hard to support me and my Gampy (Peter) and my Nanny (Maggie). I also want to thank Taylor Barone from BTO for picking me for his team and Jeff from MXClinic for helping me so much with my riding.