Out of the Blue | Cathy Coulson | Presented by Schrader’s

By Jeff McConkey

‘Out of the Blue’ is brought to you by Schrader’s.


Name: Cathy Coulson

Birthday: Feb 21,1973

Hometown: Belleville, ON

Occupation: Payroll Accountant in Film and Television

Number: 571

Bike: RMZ250

Race Club: MMRS

Classes: Ladies B and Vet 45

This week, ‘Out of the Blue’ features Ontario rider, #571 Cathy Coulson | Mao Ouyang photo

How did you get started in racing?  

My sister, her husband and 2 boys have been racing over 15 years. I have always enjoyed watching them. An opportunity came up to try it out, and I had always wanted to, so I borrowed my sister’s bike and gear and gave it a go.

As a little girl, did you ever expect to be this deep into a sport like motocross?  

Absolutely not. Even though my brothers and sister were into different forms of racing, I think my mother wanted the youngest to play it a little safer.

Do you think motocross is harder for a female to compete in?  

I feel that the boys and men in MMRS that race with us girls and women are very respectful and treat us as equals. I am not sure how it would be for the Pros.

Who is your favourite rider and why?  

Eli Tomac. I have enjoyed watching him over the last couple of years improve in Supercross. I love how much he pushes every week for a win.

Like all of us, Cathy’s favourite thing about going to the races is hanging out with all the great moto families | Mao Ouyang photo

Is there one lady racer out there that you think has paved the way for other girls to be successful in the sport?  

Eve Brodeur. And congrats to her for 2nd place at US WMX.

What Canadian Pro do you look up to and why?  

I look up to them all. It’s unbelievable how much hard work and dedication it takes for the riders and their families to even get there.

What is your favourite track and why?  

Cochranes. It’s a great track for an Intermediate rider like me. Jimmy makes you feel welcome and the camping areas are always well kept.

Who is your hero?  

My mother. She has done some badass (sorry about the language) stuff and is still going strong at 81!

What are your goals for this season?  

Try to get over my fears and maybe finally win a trophy! Boy, those young girls make it a challenge!

What are your biggest accomplishments?

I set new accomplishments pretty much every week, especially when I started this 3 years ago at the age of 40. My biggest was clearing the Crowd Pleaser at Madoc.

What is your favourite part about going to the races?  

Hanging with all the great moto families.

Cathy lists Eve Brodeur as a rider who has paved the way for other women riders to follow | Mao Ouyang photo

What do you like to do when you aren’t racing?  

I ride my Ducati around the 416!

Is it important to have a motocross racer as a boyfriend/husband, or just a bonus?  

It’s a bonus… unfortunately for me they are either too young or married… (laughs).

If you ever have children, will they be motocross racers?

100 percent, yes.

Who do you want to thank?

Liz, Dave, Dustin and Darcy. Without them, I would have never even tried this or been able to even get my gear on properly.