On the Radar: Dillon Murphy

By Jeff McConkey

Name: Dillon Murphy

Birthday: May 21, 1992

Hometown: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

Occupation: Landscape Irrigation Technician

Number: 87

Bike: Suzuki RMZ250

Race Club: MMRS, CMRC

Classes: MX2 & MX3 Intermediate

Let's get to know Intermediate rider Dillon Murphy. - Harvey Gold photo

Let’s get to know Intermediate rider Dillon Murphy. – Harvey Gold photo

How did you get started in racing? 

My parents first bought my brother and I a couple little Honda trail bikes in 2001. My father used to be a professional super-bike racer, and my grandfather built Shannonville Motorsport Park. With a family built around motorcycles I was bound to end up racing or doing something on a bike. Shortly after we got our first bikes we checked out a local race, and ever since we’ve been at the track every weekend.

What is your favourite track and why? 

That’s tough…Muttco Mountain and Walton Raceway. Both tracks have some elevation which is awesome. Walton is fast and fun, and Muttco is  a little more technical and difficult to ride.

Who is your favourite rider and why? 

Hmm… There are a few! Chad Reed, James Stewart, Dean Wilson, Ken Roczen. I can’t choose one (Laughs)! They are all great to watch for their own reasons.. They’re exciting and usually have a little something of their own to add to a race.
What Canadian Pro do you look up to and why? 
Cole Thompson…It’s pretty awesome to see a Canadian get up and battle with the other top pros at all of the SX races.
Who is your hero?
My parents! They’ve worked hard to help support me and our family, and they’re always willing to help us with anything that we need.

What are your goals for this season?

I just want to be a top guy…Everyone does! I want to keep improving and have some fun.

Dillon just wants to be a top guy and continue having fun. - Harvey Gold photo

Dillon just wants to be a top guy, continue improving, and have some fun. – Harvey Gold photo

What are your biggest accomplishments?

Last year MMRS gave me the “Most Improved Rider” for 2014, so it was pretty cool to be recognized for something that you are trying to achieve.

What is your favourite part about going to the races?

The people! It’s like a big family. Everyone is always helping out each other.
What would you like to do when you grow up? 
I guess I’m already grown up (Laughs)! What I am doing now is great, and it still allows me to ride quite often, so it’s good!

What do you like to do when you aren’t racing? 

Hanging out with friends is always a good time.
Who do you want to thank? 

Definitely my parents! Without them I would not be where I am today. I would also like to thank my brother, my girlfriend, The Tracey family, First Place Trailers & Powersports, Kimpex, Spy Optic, and Twisted Mounty.