On the Radar: Rory Clarke

By Jeff McConkey


Name:  Rory Clarke

Age: 15  

Hometown: The small and fun town of Richmond, ON

School and Grade: I am currently going to South Carlton High School and in the 10th grade.

Number: #21

Bike: 2015 YZ250f and 2014 Pro Circuit YZ125

Race Club: I have raced CMRC, MMRS, AMA, AMO

Classes:  I race Schoolboy, MX2 Junior, and sometimes MX3 Junior 


Let's get to know up-and-coming rider, Rory Clarke (Shown here with his sister, Leah). - Clarke photo

Let’s get to know up-and-coming rider, Rory Clarke (Shown here with his sister, Leah). – Clarke photo

How did you get started in racing?

I got into racing because of my dad. He first got me a Honda 50 so I could ride around the yard. One year later he got me a brand new Junior KTM SX50 from Wheelsport KTM in Orleans. Then he started taking my sister and I to Sand Del Lee to ride. Ever since, I’ve gotten hooked on racing and I’ve been going every week in the summer for 11 years ! He has taught me a lot and continues to help me improve.


What is your favourite track and why?

My favourite track is my home track, Sand Del Lee in Richmond. It has always been my favourite track because it is sand and it changes every single lap. I like the different lines and deeper ruts in the more clay areas. Also, I think if you can ride sand well, you can ride anything. I like sand tracks because it gives me an advantage against others that don’t ride sand.


Who is your favourite rider and why?

Chad Reed is my favourite rider because he proves that an older racer can still beat the younger racers. He reminds me a lot of my dad, because his old Pro number was 22, and that number sticks with me. It used to be my number for a long time until it got taken in CMRC, so I changed it to the closest number to it!


What Canadian Pro do you look up to and why?

I look up to my close friend, Dylan Wright. He has taught me a lot of things about racing, and inspires me to do my best. He is young for getting a top 20  number in the Canadian Nationals. Also, I remember him racing Youth when he was on a YZ125 and charging to beat all the 450s in front and passing them with his corner speed.


Who is your hero?

My hero is my dad. He has always been there for me when I need to get better at racing. He teaches me how to get faster, plus how to maintain my own bikes. Now he completely trusts me to rebuild all my 2-strokes by myself. Since it’s my first year on a four-stroke, he’s teaching me a lot more about the different engine. 


What are your goals for this season?

My goal for the season is getting top 5 in all the classes that I race. 


What are your biggest accomplishments? 

I was 2nd in Schoolboy last year in the MX101 Ironman Series.

I have also worked really hard this winter to improve my endurance for racing by going to the gym with Allie Argue every week, and going down south to ride at Bithlo MX track and JWTF.


What is your favourite part about going to the races?       

My favorite thing about the races is racing with all my friends and hanging out with everyone. I like having a good and fun time!


What do you like to do when you aren’t racing? 

I like to ride my CRF100f pit bike on the property that we live on. I often go four-wheeling with friends and get full of mud. I train on my road bike to keep my endurance up for my motocross racing. In the winter I rip the snowmobiles every single day and go ride with friends and family. At school enjoy learning about auto mechanics and manufacturing.


Who would you like to thank? 

I would like to thank MX101,  Nihilo Concepts,  Wheelsport for all they have supplied me over the years, and my family.