On the Radar: Jake MacDonald

By Jeff McConkey

Name: Jake MacDonald

Age: 6

Hometown: Grafton, Ontario

School and Grade: Grafton Public School, grade 1

Number: 361

Bike: 2011 KTM Mini

Race Club: MMRS, CMRC, AMO, MX101

Classes: 50 (4-6), 50 GP


Let’s get to know young Jake MacDonald. – Harvey Gold photo

How did you get started in racing?

I have been riding a PW 50 since I was 3 and going to the races every weekend to watch my brother. I tried the Tykes class a few times last year, and this year I started racing my KTM every weekend.


What is your favourite track and why?

My favourite track is Sand Del Lee. I like the big jumps there and the bicycle track.


“I like Liam O’Farrell because he comes to MMRS events and he is sponsored by Orange Motorsports like me!” – Harvey Gold photo


Who is your favourite rider and why?

My favourite riders are my brother Jamieson and Ben Mistelbacher. They are both really fast and I want to ride like them!


What Canadian Pro do you look up to and why?

I like Liam O’Farrell because he comes to MMRS events and he is sponsored by Orange Motorsports like me!


Jake’s dad is his hero for all he does for everyone at the track. – Harvey Gold photo

Who is your hero?

My dad is my hero because he helps me on the track, cheers for me, always has my bike set up for me and he helps lots of people at the track.


What were your goals for this season, and did you reach them?

My biggest goal was to ride lots, race each weekend, and improve my comfort and speed on my bike and I did accomplish this.


What are your biggest accomplishments?

My biggest accomplishments are overall podium finishes in the 50 (4-6) class for the MMRS KTM Provincial Series, MMRS Summer Challenge, and MMRS Six-Foot Series in my first year racing.


It’s pretty impressive that this first-year racer accomplished the goals he set for himself. Remember the name, Jake MacDonald. – Harvey Gold photo


What is your favourite part about going to the races?

I like riding my bike, watching movies, playing games and hanging out in the trailer when I am not riding on the track.


What do you like to do when you aren’t racing?

I like practicing at home and at other tracks, riding my BMX, snowmobiling, RZR rides and playing Minecraft.

Who would you like to thank?

I would like to thank my mom and dad and brother Jamieson, Colten at Orange Motosports, Chance at Nihilo Concepts, Wayne at Sailun Tire, John and Jean from MMRS, Lori at Val’s Live Bait, KSRacing, Chem-Ecol Industrial Lubricant and Oil Purification, Harvey Gold and Mao Ouyang for all the photos they take of me and my friends, Thirnbecks for use of their practice track, Jeff McConkey and DMX for the exposure they give to amateur riders, everyone who helps me with my gate and out on the track, and all my friends and family who come and cheer me on.