Out of the Blue: Cara Dadswell

By Jeff McConkey

Name: Cara-Christine DadswellBirthday: Nov 1, 1988

Hometown: Port Elgin, ON (Living in Edmonton, AB)

OccupationTruck DriverNumber: 144

Bike: 2013 Crf150r

Race Club: ADRA

Classes: Ladies A, Junior.

Let's get to know Alberta rider Cara Dadswell. - Sarah Stauffer photo

Let’s get to know Ontario/Alberta rider Cara Dadswell. – Sarah Stauffer photo

How did you get started in racing?

I bought my first bike when I was 21 and slowly started meeting more riders. They took me to the track a few times and there was no turning back.

As a little girl, did you ever expect to be this deep into a sport like motocross?
I’ve always been big into sports, since I was little. I never imagined this, but I am very happy in this sport.

Do you think motocross is harder for a female to compete in?

I think in any sport it’s harder for a female. The opportunities just aren’t there like there are on the men’s side. But that’s not stopping any of us from going hard!

Who is your favourite rider and why?
My favourite rider is hands down Ryan Hughes. He never gives up no matter what. He was tied for a championship and his chain broke on the last lap and pushed his bike to the finish so he wouldn’t get a DNF. ‘Ryno’ is very inspiring.

Is there one lady racer out there that you think has paved the way for other girls to be successful in the sport?
I’d have to say any girl out there riding is helping this sport. But it’s pretty cool that Vicki Golden is racing Supercross. I hope to see her qualify this year.

What Canadian Pro do you look up to and why?
I don’t know if I have a specific Canadian Pro I look up to. But anyone who’s charging and never giving up is an inspiration to me. 

What is your favourite track and why?
My favourite track is probably Calgary (Wild Rose MX Park). I’ve put more laps on that track than any other track. It’s challenging and fun. I also really like Blue Ridge.

Who is your hero?
My hero is my dad. He’s always supported me in everything I do. He always gives 100% in everything he does and that’s helped me become who I am today.

What are your goals for this season?
I’m pumped for this coming season. My work, Crazy Horse Oilfield Hauling Inc., is supporting me which helps with half the battle of just showing up. I’m going to be racing Women’s (West) Nationals and the ADRA series and any other races I can make it to.

What are your biggest accomplishments?

My biggest accomplishments would be a couple years ago racing the Wild Rose MX series and placing 3rd overall in Ladies A and 250F beginner. Also, getting my first holeshot.

What is your favourite part about going to the races?
I love getting to hang out with all my moto ladies. We’re best friends off the track, then on the track none of us mind bumping bars. Not having any family in Alberta, a lot of people have become my family at the track. It’s awesome.

What do you like to do when you aren’t racing?
Work, work, work. I’m a truck driver so I work a lot. The odd time I’m not working or racing I’m enjoy my time with friends.  

Is it important to have a motocross racer as a boyfriend/husband, or just a bonus?
I’d say just a bonus. Would be awesome to meet someone who rides too though!

If you ever have children, will they be motocross racers?
I hope they do. The option will be there for them for sure!

Who do you want to thank?
Huge shoutout to RPM Powersports in Whitecourt, Crazy Horse Oilfield Hauling Inc., MB1 Suspension, Ryno Power, Loudmouth Intakes, Factory Backing, Slick Products, KSR Wheels, Disturbed Industries, ONEFOURFOUR Contracting Ltd. And of course my Mum and Dad.