Out of the Blue | Taylah Maurice | Brought to You by Schrader’s

By Jensen Amyotte

Brought to you by Schrader’s

Name: Taylah Maurice 

Date of Birth: 13th of September, 1997

Hometown: Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia

Grade or Occupation: Accounting Student/Project Coordinator

Race Number: 303

Bike: YZ250F

Race Club: Alice Springs Motocross Club

Classes: Pro Lites 

This week, we feature #303 Taylah Maurice all the way from Alice Springs, Australia. | Carlie Nelson photo

Who/what inspired you to get into the sport of motocross and how long have you been racing/riding? 

It was my brother and my dad who were my inspiration to get into motocross at the age of 6. I raced for 6 years and stopped at the age of 12. I have since begun racing/riding again at the age of 24. 

When not on a dirt bike, how do you keep yourself busy? Are you involved in any other sports or extracurricular activities?

Apart from motocross, I also race BMX, mountain bikes and I coach BMX racing. 

As a racer, are there any obstacles you feel a female racer has to deal with that maybe a male racer does not?

I feel like as a female racer our biggest obstacles are our brains and lack of other girls to race or even just ride with.

What event do you look forward to most every year, one you don’t ever want to miss?

I look forward to spectating the Finke Desert Race every year and next year will be my first year competing in it. 

Are there any females out there who you feel have paved the way for other girls to be successful in motocross or off road?

I think Melissa Holmes, who was someone I had always looked up to, has made a massive difference in my eyes, she is such a fast rider who would always stick it to the boys. She taught me that even if you’re a girl, you can still race the boys and compete with them. 

Taylor Eve (Peet) has made a significant difference as well. She has created an amazing community online and through her events for women in motocross. 

In the off season, you’ll find Taylah racing and teaching BMX. | Carlie Nelson photo

What kind of track/dirt do you feel you excel at most and why? 

I feel that I ride/race better on faster motocross tracks with table tops mostly or natural terrain. I have always struggled with jumping, that extends across to BMX and mountain bike riding too. 

If you ever have children will you give them the option to race as well? 

If I have children I will give them to opportunity to race 1000%. I was so lucky growing up that I’d want my children to have the same opportunities I had. 

If you could give 1 piece of advice to a female of any age who wants to start riding what would it be?

The advice I’d give a girl getting into riding at any age would be don’t ever feel like you’re ‘getting in the way.’ If someone’s fast enough to pass you, they should be skilful enough to get around you. Don’t be afraid to say hi to the girls you see at the track, 9 times out of 10 they’re lovely and you could end up building lifelong friendships. 

Watch for Taylah in 2023. After taking some time off, she’s back. | Carlie Nelson photo

What was your first fear when you started riding and how did you overcome it?

I remember my first fear was my race starts. I overcame this by working out what it was in my head that was scaring me the most. I also worked with coaches on my technique. 

What was your first race number and how did you choose it?

The first number I was given was 103, but someone decided they wanted it and they had 303, so we swapped and I’ve had it ever since. 

What do you like to do in the off season? 

I like to ride mountain bikes, train for bmx and ride the tracks around where I live in my off season. 

Thanks to Schrader’s for their support of WMX.