Out of the Blue: Kassee Morrison|Presented by Schrader’s

By Jeff McConkey


‘Out of the Blue’ is brought to you by Schrader’s.

Name: Kassee Morrison

Birthday: June 3rd, 2000

Hometown: Quesnel, BC

School & Grade: Correlieu Secondary School, Grade 10

Number: 328

Bike: 2014 KX250F

Race Club: CMRC

Classes: I always race in ladies. For the 2016 year, I will be racing junior MX2 and Schoolboy.

Kassee Morrison

This week’s ‘Out of the Blue’ spotlight is on Quesnel, BC rider, #328 Kassee Morrison. – Carly Hill photo supplied by Kassee

How did you get started in racing?

I have been dirtbiking since I was 3 years old. When I was younger, I went to a race and since then I have wanted to race. My mom never wanted me to race because she knows it is very dangerous, but I didn’t care. I tried convincing my mom so many times and eventually I just stopped asking because I know she wouldn’t let me. Then I moved to Quesnel in the summer of 2014. My mom was talking to the Quesnel track president and she started talking to her about racing. That night my mom came home and asked if I wanted to try a race. Of course I said yes. We went to we track the next day to see if I would like it, of course I loved it. Then that weekend I tried my first race and I loved it.

As a little girl, did you ever expect to be this deep into a sport like motocross?

No, I didn’t because I never thought that I’d be able to do motocross. Now that I have got the chance to start chasing my dream, I go to the track almost every day to get better and better.

Do you think motocross is harder for a female to compete in?

Most definitely! Us girls don’t get the body strength as easy as guys do to pick up our bikes when we fall. For me as a female, I can catch on really easy but it’s hard for me to just open up the throttle because I’m always thinking of what might happen if I crash. Being a girl in a guy dominated sport just gives us in incentive to try harder and push harder every day.

Who is your favourite rider and why?

My favourite rider is Ashley Fiolek because she’s just such an inspirational rider. Being deaf and having the confidence to race dirt bikes is amazing! I love that she is willing to teach us other girls about riding better and giving us tips. It must be very hard to teach things while being deaf, so props to her! I also really like Ryan Dungey because he’s such a smooth rider. No matter how good he keeps getting, he still trains harder and harder every day.

Is there one lady racer out there that you think has paved the way for other girls to be successful in the sport?

I would have to say that Ashley Fiolek, for sure! Like I said before, being deaf must have been hard to learn the bikes and when to shift and to use the clutch at certain spots. Knowing that she has had to work twice as hard makes me think that I have it easier than her and that I can do anything. I also would say Sara King, the 2015 West Women’s Canadian champion. I’ve got to race with her for 2 years now and knowing that she made it that far makes me feel like I can if I try hard enough.

What Canadian Pro do you look up to and why?

I look up to Colton Facciotti. He worked really hard to get to where he is now and keeps working for it. When he won his first championship in 2008, he didn’t stop there. He kept working harder and harder and won 3 more championships in 2009, 2011, and 2014.

Kassee Morrison

Kassee is a big fan of Ashley Fiolek, Ryan Dungey, and Colton Facciotti. – Amanda Morrison photo supplied by Kassee

What is your favourite track and why?

My favourite track is Williams Lake in British Columbia because it’s so much fun! It’s seems like a long track because there are so many corners but it isn’t really that long. The wood chips and dirt make it fun to ride because when you fall, it doesn’t hurt as bad. The jumps are so much fun!

Who is your hero?

Honestly, I don’t really have a hero but if I had to choose someone it would be both my parents. They’ve been through a lot with losing my sister in 2012 and they still will do anything to keep my siblings and me happy. They always make anything work no matter how big the issue, plus they encourage me to do better on and off my bike at everything.

What are your goals for this season?

My goals for this season are to just stay on two tires and ride hard. I’ll be doing the Canadian Women’s Nationals this year and I’m going to work hard so that I can do well.

What are your biggest accomplishments?

My biggest accomplishment would be getting my first plaque in racing in 2014 because I got a concussion but still got 2nd place in ladies. Another big accomplishment of mine would winning my first championship in 2015. I got 1st in ladies in North BC in the BCMA series and 2nd in Junior B. Getting 2nd in Junior B was cool because it’s a guy dominated class.

What is your favourite part about going to the races?

I absolutely love everything about going to the races. Spending time with family and friends, getting geared up and going through adrenaline rushes. All of it is so much fun.

What do you like to do when you aren’t racing?

Kassee Morrison

Kassee likes to play basketball and go to the gym, but she spends “a lot of time” on her bike. – Carly Hill photo supplied by Kassee

When I am not racing, I like to be at the track to practice, I also go to the gym. I enjoy playing sports like basketball as well. I spend a lot of time on my bike though.

Is it important to have a motocross racer as a boyfriend/partner, or just a bonus?

I don’t think that it’s important at all! Having a boyfriend that is supportive and will give you tips here and there is just a bonus.

If you ever have children, will they be motocross racers?

If I ever have children, I would introduce them to dirt bikes and hopefully they would like it and want to start racing. If they didn’t want to race, I wouldn’t force them to.

Who do you want to thank?

I would like to thank my parents mostly for taking me to the races and making sure that my bike is ready when I need it and taking me down to the track every day! I would also like to thank Full Throttle Motorsports in Quesnel, Outback BC, Fountain Tire, Make Traxx, and United Concrete. I would also like to thank my grandparents and everyone that has supported me through my first 2 years of racing!