Out of the Blue: Laurie Laforest

By Jeff McConkey


Name: Laurie Laforest
Birthday:  October 24, 1991
Hometown: Saint Donat de Montcalm, Quebec
School : Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration
Number:  53
Bike: Honda CRF 250R 2012
Race Club:  CMRC
Classes: Women

Let's get to know Laurie Laforest. - photo supplied by Laforest

Let’s get to know Laurie Laforest. – photo supplied by Laforest

How did you get started in racing?
My dad and brother raced when I was young. I grew up at the races, basically, but they stopped when I was 6. I have always loved dirtbikes and sleds and I bought my first dirtbike at the age of 19. My dad didn’t want me to ride bikes, and was against the idea of me getting a motocross bike.  I saved money all summer and bought it on my own without them knowing. I then start riding as much as I could, and it became a huge part of my life and of course my dad now helps me a lot.

As a little girl, did you ever expect to be this deep into a sport like motocross?

Yes. I’ve always wanted to get into this sport. I remember spending hours and hours on my Pee Wee 50 when I was younger. I loved it so much.

Do you think motocross is harder for a female to compete in?
It depends on the support you get  from your friends and family. Going to races on your own is definitely a struggle for us girls. If you crash, who is going to take your stuff home, or if you need help at the gate? I think the categories, themselves, are created equal, but the whole preparation that comes with it is what is making this sport hard to do.

Who is your favourite rider and why?
Ken Roczen is my favourite rider, of course.  He is such a great rider in both outdoors and indoors. He worked hard to get where he is at today AND he is so damn cute (laughs).

Is there one lady racer out there that you think has paved the way for other girls to be successful in the sport?
Even though she doesn’t race that much anymore, I like Ashley Fiolek A LOT! I think what she accomplished on a dirtbike is extraordinary and she is so talented. I think her story is awesome, and she is a good inspiration for us girls.

What Canadian Pro do you look up to and why?
Colton Facciotti is my favourite Canadian rider. He has a really good style and wins everything. That kid is fast!

Laurie's favourite Canadian rider is MX1 champion, Colton Faciotti.  photo supplied by Laforest

Laurie’s favourite Canadian rider is MX1 champion, Colton Facciotti. photo supplied by Laforest

What is your favourite track and why?
I like the XTOWN track a lot, since I am always practicing there during the summer, but the track I liked the most in my life is the NCMP track in North Carolina.

Who is your hero? 
My hero is my sister. She is 12 years older than me, and has made me who I am today. She is such a good mom and a great person, with good values. I don’t know where I’d be without her today.

What are your goals for next season?
I want to get faster and ride new tracks around QC and Ontario.

What are your biggest accomplishments?
Not breaking all the bones of my body while crashing everywhere.

What is your favourite part about going to the races? 
Getting to see all those families reunited and so happy to be together. I think that is what makes the races incredible. All those kids having fun and people pushing beyond their limits from 5 years old to 40 years old is really amazing.

Her favourite thing about going to the races is watching all the riders pushing themselves beyond their limits. - Focus photo supplied by Laforest

Her favourite thing about going to the races is watching all the riders pushing themselves beyond their limits. – fokus photo supplied with permission by Laforest

What do you like to do when you aren’t racing?
I love going to the gym and surfing during the summer. I am going to school from September to May, so I’m really caught up in my books when the motocross season is ending.

Is it important to have a motocross racer as a boyfriend/husband, or just a bonus?
No, no, no (laughs). I think it would be great to share the same passion with someone you like, but motocross is also the only time I have for myself and I really enjoy riding alone.

If you ever have children, will they be motocross racers?
Of course, if they like the sport I will help them get where they want.

Who do you want to thank?
My friend Eric from ECD Customs has really helped me a lot through my first years of racing, mentally and with my bike preparation. My family, and of course my sponsors of the past years Centre Hamel Honda, Kimpex, Rock The Street, ECD Customs, FIT Gym, Dave Morgan from Habitations DM, and my step brother who helps me  a lot with my bike and riding.