On the Radar: Johnathan Glaves

By Jeff McConkey

Name:  Johnathan Glaves (usually go by ‘Johno’)

Age: 16 years old

Hometown: I’m from Grimsby, Ontario

School and Grade: I’m in grade 11 going to Grimsby Secondary School

Number: 513

Bike: Yamaha 125

Race Club: CMRC/AMO and WNY racing

Classes: MX2 Junior, 250C and Schoolboy


Let’s get to know Grimsby, Ontario rider Jonathan Glaves. – Jacquie Shortino photo


How did you get started in racing?
Hmmm…this is a tough question because it was so long ago. Well, my dad used to race and I used to go watch his races so he was [the one] who got me into racing. Then, when I was 4 years old, he got me my first dirt bike – a PW50 – so I learned to ride on that, riding the same figure 8 track over and over in my backyard. I remember always looking behind me to see if I threw up any roost. Then, after a year of learning, my dad got me a KTM 50 and that was the first bike I started to race on.

What is your favourite track and why?  
My favourite track would have to be Area 51 in Batavia, NY because it flows real good, the dirt is perfect and loamy, and always forms the nicest ruts. My favourite track in Canada is Motopark, for sure. The layout is awesome and the loamy berms are so much fun, and the new track changes are sweet.

Who is your favourite rider and why?
Uhh…my favourite rider would have to be Trey Canard. He has been through so much which makes me respect him even more. Even after his dad passed away, Trey still wants to win and continue to race for himself. I definitely look up to Trey and his perspective on things. I also look up to his style on the bike. I love watching him ride.


“I look up to ‘Jimmy D’ because he isn’t afraid to do his own thing and change it up. He puts in the work and makes it happen. He also has fun with racing and lives his life.” – Jacquie Shortino photo

What Canadian Pro do you look up to and why?
My favourite Canadian pro has to be Jimmy Decotis. He has always been one of my favourite riders and when he came up to race in Canada it was cool to see him shred the tracks we ride on all the time. I look up to ‘Jimmy D’ because he isn’t afraid to do his own thing and change it up. He puts in the work and makes it happen. He also has fun with racing and lives his life. And my two favourite videos on YouTube have to be Jimmy D shredding his 125 around MX207.

Who is your hero?
My hero would have to be my dad. He has taught me so much about life, racing, making good impressions and money, (Laughs) because racing isn’t exactly cheap. He has done so much for me and I have so much respect for him. He constantly pushes me to be the best and does the best to provide me with what he can to make it happen for me. He is a great role model. I wouldn’t be where I am today without him.

What were your goals for this season, and did you reach them?
This year, my goals were to ride consistently and follow the AMO series and finish in the top 5 in the Junior and Schoolboy classes, and have a good consistent week at the Walton TransCan because I always seem to have bad luck there. Unfortunately, I blew my knee out training down south in Georgia. I came home and trained to strengthen it and went to physio to be ready for spring after I came home early from down south in January. Unfortunately, I still struggled from 5 knee dislocations from April until August, so this year I didn’t do much racing.


Unfortunately, due to injury, ‘Johno’ was only able to make 4 races in 2015. – Jacquie Shortino photo

What are your biggest accomplishments?
My accomplishments are: I raced in Western New York a few times this year and finished 3rd in the Schoolboy class, I raced Walton TransCan in 2013, and finished 4th in Schoolboy at the 2014 Gopher Dunes Sandstorm. This year was a bit of a write-off due to injury, so this year racing was limited and I was only at 4 races this season.

What is your favourite part about going to the races?
My favourite part is when the moto is over and everything went as planned, you were hitting the corners just right and felt good the whole moto. There is no better feeling. I also love seeing all my friends from the track that I can’t see at home.

What do you like to do when you aren’t racing?
When I’m not racing I ride bicycles, practice as much as much as possible if my dad can make it work, I wakeboard at the cottage, usually try to do as little homework as possible (laughs), hangout with friends and in the winter, since I have to go to school and can’t live down south the whole winter, I ski quite a bit.

Who would you like to thank?
Yeah, none of this would be possible without my mom and dad standing behind me and supporting me 100%. And I’d also like to thank Baldwin’s Cycle, Eks Brand goggles, 503 Design graphics, Brian Koster from Orthoflex, A&D Automotive and the Nauta Family for everything they have done for me.