Out of the Blue: Estrella Cemovic|Presented by Schrader’s

By Jeff McConkey


‘Out of the Blue’ is presented by Schrader’s.


Name: Estrella Cemovic

Birthday: December 8, 1998

Hometown: Brampton, Ontario

School & Grade: Homeschooled in grade 12

Number: 265

Bike: Yamaha YZ250f

Race Club: I usually just race TransCan and sometimes Motocup in Canada and the bigger races in the States like Mini O’s, Spring Nationals and Loretta’s this year. I also do a couple local races when I come home for a bit.

Classes: Ladies and Junior in Canada and Ladies and 250c in the States.

Estrella Cemovic

This week’s ‘Out of the Blue presented by Schrader’s’ column features Brampton, Ontario’s #265 Estrella Cemovic (shown here with Dave Bell)|Bigwave photo

How did you get started in racing?

I started racing when i was around 13 or 14 when my dad bought my first real bike which was a Kawasaki KX85. He brought my little brother and I to Motopark for our first race/ride on it and ever since then we loved it.

As a little girl, did you ever expect to be this deep into a sport like motocross?

Definitely not. I didn’t start riding until later in my life so I never would have thought as a little girl that I would be living the kind  of life that I am right now and loving it as much as I do. Most of the year I am down in the States training at GPF in Cairo, Georgia, so it’s nice to come home sometimes. But yeah, I definitely wouldn’t have thought that I would be homeschooled living in Georgia training everyday for this sport and being so deep into it.

Do you think motocross is harder for a female to compete in?

Honestly, I think that women have just as equal a chance of making something out of this sport as the guys do at the amateur level. Just because we are a different gender doesn’t mean we should be treated different from them, which we don’t. I think it’s so annoying when women complain so much and try and get their own series and stuff because we should be riding with the guys anyway, we shouldn’t be getting special treatment.

Who is your favourite rider and why?

I don’t really have a favourite rider. I look up to anyone who works hard and dedicates their time into training and doesn’t give up.

Estrella Cemovic

Estrella lists Motopark as one of her favourite tracks, along with Gatorback in Florida|Bigwave photo

Is there one lady racer out there that you think has paved the way for other girls to be successful in the sport?

I think I would say Vicki Golden because she was the first lady to make it into Supercross which is a pretty big thing.

What Canadian Pro do you look up to and why?

I think I would say the Canadian pro that I look up to is Colton Facciotti mainly because he was down training at GPF all winter while I was there and I saw how hard he worked and dedicated he was, which is definitely paying off for him.

What is your favourite track and why?

I think my favourite track would either be Motopark or Gatorback in Florida. Both these track are just really fun and I enjoy them a lot. Motopark has been our home track since I started riding so I definitely have a lot of memories there with my friends. I also just love the track and every time I come back I notice how far I have come and all my improvements.

Who is your hero?

I think I would say my dad is because he works so hard and does whatever he can to always make sure our bikes are perfect and always puts us before himself.

What are your goals for this season?

Definitely to make it to Loretta’s and do well there. I would also like to get top 5 at Mini O’s and TransCan. I would also like to do well in the Junior class here in Canada.

What are your biggest accomplishments?

I am very proud of a lot of my results at the big races in the States. Last year, I won 2 titles at the Davi Millsaps Spring Classic, I got a 10th, a 2nd, and a 7th at the JS7 Freestone Spring Championship, a 10th on SX and MX at Mini O’s and an 8th at Walton TransCan. This year so far I got 5th place at the Ricky Carmichael Daytona Supercross and 2nd place at the Junior Motocross Challenge in Oklahoma.

What is your favourite part about going to the races?

I just love racing and seeing my improvements. I also love seeing my friends and hanging out with them.

Watch for #265 Estrella Cemovic this

Watch for Estrella this year at Loretta Lynn’s and the Parts Canada TransCan|Bigwave photo

What do you like to do when you aren’t racing?

I love to go to the mall with my friends and hangout with my friends and family in my backyard by our pool. I also just love doing stuff outside.

Is it important to have a motocross racer as a boyfriend/partner, or just a bonus?

I mean, if I ever got a boyfriend I would prefer that they race (Laughs) but if I met someone outside of the track and they didn’t it would be fine too.

If you ever have children, will they be motocross racers?

Yes, for sure.

Who do you want to thank?

Definitely Graeme and everyone else over at Two Wheel Motorsports for everything they do, always helping us out for sure! Also would like to thank GPF, it is definitely a very professionally run training facility and I would not have come as far as I have now without them, Gary our mechanic, MotoE for training us in the gym, Maxima Oils and MCR suspension.