On the Radar | Hunter Tse

By Jeff McConkey

Name:  Hunter Tse

Age: 12

Hometown: West Kelowna, BC

School and Grade: 7 Glenrosa Middle School

Number: 25

Bike: Honda CR85

Race Club: Future West Moto, CMRC, CMA

Classes: 85cc (12-16)


This week, #25 Hunter Tse is ‘On the Radar.’ | Tse photo


How did you get started in racing?

My older siblings gave me the chance and gave me all the gear I needed to start riding and my friends at the track all started riding so it just happened!


What is your favourite track and why?  

Agassiz is my favourite track because it is a smaller but super fun outdoor track. In the summer I get so hot and I like how the track feels like it’s in a forest. Lots of trees to give you the shade during motos.


Who is your favourite rider and why?

My favourite rider is Marvin Musquin because his riding style makes me want to be like him and he isn’t the biggest person like me. He also has my favourite number and has gotten better every year like how I want to. He always has a smile and is positive even if he doesn’t get the results he wanted. I hope he does well this year!


“My favourite part is challenging other friends and myself, meeting people and cheering on everyone like my sisters and brother. It’s so fun being able to run around and have campfires.” | Tse photo

What Canadian Pro do you look up to and why? 

Casey Keast is a new Pro and I really like watching him ride. He always challenges people that are older than him and when he isn’t out of town he still rides at the track I always practice at and it’s cool how fast he is getting.


Who is your hero?

My sisters and brothers are my heroes because they help me with everything! My brother always teaches me tricks on the bike and so does Kristin. Shelby is always there when I need her, especially when I fall or need anything when mom isn’t there. She always helps my friends too, so It’s awesome. All of them bring me to the track and it feels awesome like I have a pit crew.


What are your goals for next season, and what is it going to take to reach them? 

Getting my family to help me get behind the gate. I want my siblings to get together more often to teach me so maybe we can get some more sponsors. My dad works a lot and comes home and never leaves our garage. I wish we could get more help! I think if my siblings help me I can do better and be in the top half of the class all the time. I want to learn how to get faster in corners. I just got a bigger bike so it is a little scary. If I get more speed maybe I can clear a little more jumps too!


What are your biggest accomplishments? 

I can’t be like my friends right now…most are all better than me but I think I am not embarrassed to ask anyone if they can help. My sister is always helping other people and talks to everyone very easy so I kind of learned like her. I finished every race and that’s where I can start! I don’t have any big trophies as a beginner but I know eventually, if I work hard, I will.


Next time you see Hunter at the track, be sure to ask him to play his violin for you! | Tse photo


What is your favourite part about going to the races?

My favourite part is challenging other friends and myself, meeting people and cheering on everyone like my sisters and brother. It’s so fun being able to run around and have campfires. I like after the race we can still hangout and everyone is still friends even if we have to try to beat each other on the track.


What do you like to do when you aren’t racing? 

I like watching other friends and my family race, and I also like to give them a big high 5 after motos. At home I play hockey, soccer and I have a big paper route for extra cash. I love the violin as well but nobody at the track has seen me bust it out (Laughs).


Who would you like to thank?

My mom and dad, my sister for giving me this interview and everyone who makes it possible! Thank you Valley Moto Sport, Kelowna Yamaha Marine, Gibson Tyre Canada, Mr. Lube Kelowna, Kelowna Manual Therapy, and my friends for all the fun.